WARNING FOR CLASSIFIED SECTION SELLERS!!! Bottom line is that if this person or anyone contacts a mem" />
You are not currently logged in. Login to myAccount   Forgot Your Login?   SignUp For a Free Account
 
Sell Your StreetRod FAST!-Help-Contact Us
WARNING FOR CLASSIFIED SECTION SELLERS!!!
Posted: July 09 2003 10:25 PM
 
nope nope (aka hotwheels55) [ View ] [ ] [ Car Ads ] [ Blogs ]
Great Britain
 
I have some items for sale in the classified section and this a.m. I received a message from a person who identified herself as "Kathy Maria" who supposedly is an auto dealer in South Africa.
Bottom line is that if this person or anyone contacts a member regarding the purchase of something you have for sale in the classifieds, be aware of a possible fraudulent scheme. Protect yourself by asking questions and being firm in how you will expect payment and when you will ship the items for sale.
In this instance, the person says that they are interested in buying what I have for sale, that they are owed ($6,500) money by a customer in the USA and that they will have their customer send me a cashiers check for that full amount they are owed and I am to deduct the purchase price from the cashiers check and forward to them another certified check for the differance in the amount. Then they will make arrangements for the item(s) purchased to be picked up. They will provide no shipping information.
They did leave me a YAHOO address for the FBI to inquire about.
This appears to be a fraudulent scheme in every sense of the legal definition
 
 
Comments
 
Posted by iajonesy  -  07/09/2003 10:25 PM
This same scam just happened to a kid here in eastern Iowa. The buyer sent him a "cashiers check" for the purchase price plus shipping costs for a motorcycle and the kid deposited the "check" in his account and then sent the "shipper" a money order for $3200 for shipping. The "check" fooled his bank, it was drawn on a bank from Florida that does not exsist and now the kid is out $3200. Beware of any foriegn buyers or sellers, they are almost impossible to track down and prosicution is also impossible.
iajonesy [ View ] [ Email ] [ Blogs ] [ Car Ads ] Lisbon, Iowa
 
Posted by awsum34  -  07/03/2003 02:00 PM
If they really want it let them send you all the money up front and cleard the bank before shipping.. It don't sound right to me.
awsum34 [ View ] [ Email ] [ Blogs ] [ Car Ads ] Overland Park, Kansas
 
Posted by BigAlBre  -  07/03/2003 04:31 PM

If anyone else is contacted through classifieds on this site please let either eriq or me know and we will do our best to block further email from these individuals.



As we've said in the past we don't keep a record or log or read email sent through our system but we do have the ability to block what we feel is spam.



BigAl Breland



StreetRodding.com

Big Al sittin back pickin & grinning in paradise. [ View ] [ Email ] [ Blogs ] [ Car Ads ] Saint Petersburg Beach, Florida Charter Member since June 1999
 
Posted by orphans2  -  07/03/2003 05:09 PM

This is looks like a very bad deal. It is typical of other "Nigerian" scams that are running through emails. Best bet - dump it to authorities. Don't even think about responding.



There is another scam running where you may get an email from BestBuys.com stating that someone has charged items to your credit card and Best Buys believes it to be a fraud and wants you to contact them my going to a website. Unfortuanately once you go to the website and answer some questions they got you. Best Buys has a telephone recording advising customers to not respond to the email. If you get a suspicious email, high light the sender's address and click on "properties". This will show you who really sent the email. It amy not be from the person listed as the sender. If different, be wary of it.



These low life's are doing every slick thing they can do to get between you and your money and your property. This stuff is not spam, it is criminal fraud.

orphans2 [ View ] [ Email ] [ Blogs ] [ Car Ads ] Stewartstown, Pennsylvannia Charter Member since November 2001
 
Posted by iajonesy  -  07/09/2003 10:25 PM
This same scam just happened to a kid here in eastern Iowa. The buyer sent him a "cashiers check" for the purchase price plus shipping costs for a motorcycle and the kid deposited the "check" in his account and then sent the "shipper" a money order for $3200 for shipping. The "check" fooled his bank, it was drawn on a bank from Florida that does not exsist and now the kid is out $3200. Beware of any foriegn buyers or sellers, they are almost impossible to track down and prosicution is also impossible.
iajonesy [ View ] [ Email ] [ Blogs ] [ Car Ads ] Lisbon, Iowa
 
Posted by awsum34  -  07/03/2003 02:00 PM
If they really want it let them send you all the money up front and cleard the bank before shipping.. It don't sound right to me.
awsum34 [ View ] [ Email ] [ Blogs ] [ Car Ads ] Overland Park, Kansas
 
Posted by BigAlBre  -  07/03/2003 04:31 PM

If anyone else is contacted through classifieds on this site please let either eriq or me know and we will do our best to block further email from these individuals.



As we've said in the past we don't keep a record or log or read email sent through our system but we do have the ability to block what we feel is spam.



BigAl Breland



StreetRodding.com

Big Al sittin back pickin & grinning in paradise. [ View ] [ Email ] [ Blogs ] [ Car Ads ] Saint Petersburg Beach, Florida Charter Member since June 1999
 
Posted by orphans2  -  07/03/2003 05:09 PM

This is looks like a very bad deal. It is typical of other "Nigerian" scams that are running through emails. Best bet - dump it to authorities. Don't even think about responding.



There is another scam running where you may get an email from BestBuys.com stating that someone has charged items to your credit card and Best Buys believes it to be a fraud and wants you to contact them my going to a website. Unfortuanately once you go to the website and answer some questions they got you. Best Buys has a telephone recording advising customers to not respond to the email. If you get a suspicious email, high light the sender's address and click on "properties". This will show you who really sent the email. It amy not be from the person listed as the sender. If different, be wary of it.



These low life's are doing every slick thing they can do to get between you and your money and your property. This stuff is not spam, it is criminal fraud.

orphans2 [ View ] [ Email ] [ Blogs ] [ Car Ads ] Stewartstown, Pennsylvannia Charter Member since November 2001
 
Back To Top
Please Login or Register to Comment
Existing Member? Sign In.
New Visitor? Click Here to Get Started!
 
Existing Member but forgot your Login Information? Click Here.