Be watchful Guys
You are not currently logged in. Login to myAccount   Forgot Your Login?   SignUp For a Free Account
 
Sell Your StreetRod FAST!-Help-Contact Us
Be watchful Guys
Posted: August 12 2007 01:28 PM
 
Mark Roby (aka robymarks) [ View ] [ mroby@coatesfieldservice.com ] [ Car Ads ] [ Blogs ]
Houston, Texas
(281) 728-1824
 
I just got an email from the SR website from a guy inquiring about the parts I have for sale. There is something fishy about it which I noticed by his use of the English language, the fact that he never said what parts and I only have one ad, and wanting to know if I would take a certified check. It looks and sounds like one of those phishing expeditions. May be nothing or something. Just a heads up.
 
 
Comments
 
Posted by tlp1968  -  08/12/2007 02:37 PM
Thank you for the warning Mark. As much as we try and believe me Eriq spends alot of time keeping the phising folks out, we cannot catch them all. If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.


Also remember if anyone tells you we recommended them or have some sort of deposit for certification (I have heard this story before) that we do not do that. Any ads are simply that, ads put on the site for a fixed price. We make no promises about the seller or the payments etc.
StreetRodding.com Marketing Director [ View ] [ Email ] [ Blogs ] [ Car Ads ] Springfield, Illinois Charter Member since August 2003
 
Posted by eriq  -  08/12/2007 03:14 PM
good catch robymarks, this is a good time to point out that every single email sent from one person to another on streetrodding.com has a note about how to spot scammers. Please pay attention to this information, we update it as often as is needed and will help you protect yourselves from scammers!
StreetRodding.com Webmaster [ View ] [ Email ] [ Blogs ] [ Car Ads ] Palm Harbor, Florida
 
Posted by robymarks  -  08/12/2007 03:51 PM
Here is a copy of the email. It looks like it came from SR email, but note that it says the item was seen at ocala4sale. It had the logo and warning etc.To be fair, I have omitted the name and email of the person in case it is legit.


This email is being sent to you from the StreetRodding.com Email System. Please ensure your reply should



Subject: your parts


Message: Dear Seller, I'm kollen adams by name located in usa..i was browsing by on ocala4sale classifieds and got to your page..as a matter of fact, i am highly interested in purchasing your item you placed for sale..but before we proceed, i will like to ask some few questions, what's the condition of this item, price and if you'll able to accept a certified US cashier's check or money order as the mode of payment..I hope you understand.. I'll await your response asap today. Best Regards .



Please be wary of scam emails! These are people who are inquiring of something you may be selling. They will always be willing to send you a cashiers check or money order or some other seemingly valid financial instrument. They will invariably have some reason why you should send them money back, whether it's because they are sending you more than you have asked for the item or whatever. This scenario is ALWAYS a scam and you should notify the proper authorities right away and also Let StreetRodding.com know so that we may flag this email address in the future.
robymarks [ View ] [ Email ] [ Blogs ] [ Car Ads ] Houston, Texas Charter Member since October 2005
 
Posted by bigdude  -  08/12/2007 06:52 PM
I got it too!
resident know it all [ View ] [ Email ] [ Blogs ] [ Car Ads ] Three Rivers, Michigan Charter Member since January 2004
 
Posted by lildude  -  08/12/2007 10:40 PM
yea, I got one too, and I don't have any parts listed anymore
lildude [ View ] [ Email ] [ Blogs ] [ Car Ads ] kalamazoo, Michigan Charter Member since March 2005
 
Back To Top
Please Login or Register to Comment
Existing Member? Sign In.
New Visitor? Click Here to Get Started!
 
Existing Member but forgot your Login Information? Click Here.